Harrison Wins Peoria

071513 MN Peoria


Harrison Bumps and Runs to Fourth Win of 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Peoria Speedway


PEORIA, Ill. July 15, 2013 Mike Harrison extended his DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals points lead over Rusty Griffaw after he turned leader Kenny Wallace in the final corner and drove to the checkers to claim his fourth win of the 2013 tour on Monday night at Peoria Speedway.


The top two in final points of the 2012 series championship, Harrison, of Highland, Ill., and Wallace, of St. Louis, Mo., shared the front row. Wallace got the jump on Harrison in the high groove and pulled out to an early lead before an early race caution bunched the field.


Wallace again started quickly and tried to hold off Harrison, who could get to Wallace’s bumper but could never get a nose under him. Harrison finally got position on Wallace as Milo Veloz Jr. joined the battle for the lead. Harrison and Wallace raced side-by-side for the next handful of laps with Veloz lurking behind them, but Wallace maintained the top spot in the faster outside line.


With five laps remaining, tempers started to flare and patience was starting to wear. Harrison dove underneath Wallace every lap in turn three, but his car would never stick and Wallace kept the lead coming off of four. On the last lap it looked like it was Wallace’s race to lose, until Harrison would dive it off into turn three again, but this time making contact with Wallace’s left rear sending him spinning. Harrison rolled on to claim the $1,000 checkered flag with Wallace finishing seventh.

Read more: Harrison Wins Peoria

Thomas Wins Vermilion

071413 MN Vermilion


Thomas Scores Second Win of 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Vermilion County Speedway


DANVILLE, Ill. July 14, 2013 Ryan Thomas scored his second victory of the 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals in dominating fashion on Sunday night, leading every lap but the first one at Vermilion County Speedway.


Thomas, of Martinsville, Ind., becomes only the third repeat winner of the six-week 2013 season. Thomas started on the outside of Steven Brooks, of New Lenox, Ill., on the front row as the field thundered to the green flag. Brooks got the early jump on Thomas before surrendering the lead on lap 2 to Thomas, who made his move to the front in the low groove.


Thomas quickly extended his lead over Brooks, who had his hands full with Brian Lynn and Nick Allen. Brooks allowed Lynn by him for a few laps before finally recapturing the second position, but no one could catch Thomas, who had extended his lead over the field. Eventually Brooks had a chance to pass Thomas with two to go but could not pull even with him as Thomas held him off to capture the $1,000 checkered flag.


Read more: Thomas Wins Vermilion

Curl Captures Kankakee

071213 MN Kankakee


Curl Captures First Win of 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Kankakee County Speedway


KANKAKEE, Ill. July 12, 2013 Jeff Curl passed race-long leader Nick Allen with six laps remaining and then held on to the checkered flag to secure his first win of the 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals season at Kankakee County Speedway.


Curl, of Forrest, Ill., started sixth and found the early-going a challenge to find room to make a pass, leaving him stuck outside the top five. A restart near the midway point gave him the opportunity he needed and with the field bunched up he moved to the outside line. Not many drivers chose to get off of the bottom of the track, giving Curl enough room to pass and catch Allen, who had dominated the entire race from his pole-position.


Allen, seeing Curl cutting into his lead, moved up to the high side to try and hold off Curl, but Curl was too strong as he got to the corner of Allen’s car and slipped by him going into turn three with six laps remaining. Curl then held off Kenny Wallace en route to scoring the $1,000 checkered flag, his first of the six-week long tour.


Curl becomes the 18th different winner in 21 races heading into the final week of the tour. Only Mike Harrison (3) and Devin Gilpin (2) have won more than once.


“I found something in the middle of (turn) one and two, and got alongside of Nick Allen, and I knew if I couldn’t get him in one and two then I would finish second to him,” said Curl, who won this same event last year. “To go by guys like (Mike) Harrison, Nick Allen and Kenny Wallace we’ve just worked really hard to get to this point and I can’t think all the guys enough.”


Read more: Curl Captures Kankakee

Harrison Earns Macon Win

071113 MN Macon


Harrison Captures Third Win in the 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Macon Speedway


MACON, Ill. July 11, 2013 In a season that has proven difficult for any driver to score more than one win, Mike Harrison now has three in the 2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals as he claimed the victory Thursday night at 1/5th-mile Macon Speedway.


Harrison, of Highland, Ill., started the race from the outside of row two, just behind the front row of Brian Divley and Kenny Wallace. Staying glued to the bottom, Harrison passed Wallace within the first five laps and set his sights on leader Divley. With a restart coming on lap 9, Harrison was right on Divley’s tail. Harrison changed his line and moved to the top of the track to try and get around Divley, who did his best to hold his line but on lap 13 Harrison got a nose under Divley’s right corner and make the pass in turn one on lap 14.


With just a handful of laps remaining, Harrison maneuvered through thick lapped traffic. He searched for any open hole, and in doing so he did not see a stopped car on the front straightaway, resulting in Harrison colliding directly with the parked vehicle. Luckily for Harrison he would be able to restart from the first position with minimal damage. Harrison’s car was obviously hurting, but he held off Divley to capture the $1,000 checkered flag.


“Anytime you get in a wreck like that you never know what will be broke,” said Harrison, who took over the lead in the championship standings with the victory. “We went back to green and I just tried to stay on the bottom. Hopefully no one was going around me on the top because I was leery of diving off on the top and letting the cushion get ahold of me.”


Read more: Harrison Earns Macon Win

Terre Haute Rained Out

2013 MN 600x400 Placeholder


Wednesday’s DIRTcar Summer Nationals & Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Events Rained Out at Terre Haute


The two series return to action Thursday night at Macon Speedway


TERRE HAUTE, Ind. — July 10, 2013 — Rain has forced DIRTcar Racing and Terre Haute Action Track officials to cancel Wednesday’s DIRTcar Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals events.


Next up, the six-week summer series moves to Macon (Ill.) Speedway for Thursday night’s popular Herald & Review 100 for the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour in addition to an exciting DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals event. Pit gates open at 4 p.m., the grandstands open at 5 p.m. and racing action begins at 7 p.m.


The championship points battles have tightened in each series. Brandon Sheppard leads the Summer Nationals Hell Tour by 50 points over Shannon Babb, with Bobby Pierce and Ryan Unzicker only 11 points behind Babb. Rusty Griffaw leads the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals standings by 29 points over Mike Harrison, with Jeff Curl only 23 points behind Harrison.


Read more: Terre Haute Rained Out